April/May Update

Here I thought I had nothing to really write about but when I sat down and started I began to realize a lot more happened in April than I thought. It happened in such small pieces each week that it felt like I had nothing going on. That’s all the time I’ve really had for my artwork for the past month is small amounts of time here and there. The kids keep me pretty busy and with warmer weather I have a lot of spring cleaning to get done in and outside the house. Let’s not forget the spring colds that circulate!

I decided not to focus on posting my blog every week for the time being because I just don’t have time for it. It usually takes me about 3-5 days to put together a blog post and I don’t have that kind of time to dedicate to it every week, right now.

For the first time ever my bookmarks are available in a real brick and mortar store! I’ve contemplated it many times but in the end always concluded it wasn’t really worth it or I didn’t have the time to get stock together etc. So I spent a good few months slowly building my stock and carefully curated an inventory I felt reflected the types of people who shop locally in our town. Many of the bookmarks can be found online on my Etsy Shop or Square Shop but there’s a bunch that are exclusive to So Divine Artisan Boutique. You can find them in her shop on the corner behind Pharmasave (across from the Library). Also known as 470 Stuart Drive West Unit #15 if you don’t understand small town directions. Not only that but you can also find them in the So Divine Artisan Boutique Website! Below are the bookmarks exclusively sold at So Divine.

While curating an inventory I was also working on a commission which ended up taking me way longer than a bookmark usually takes me to draw. I kept having to restart the face and struggled so much that at one point I thought about starting all over from scratch. I persevered and in the end had something that I didn’t feel horrible about. I felt okay taking money for it. I kept wondering why did I struggled so bad? I decided I needed to take some time to focus on relearning and brushing up on some drawing fundamentals. I thought for sure the struggle was just I’m out of practice and don’t do it enough.

When I was filling out the authentication card I realized I didn’t even know the dogs name. I always ask for extra info about the pets I draw. I ask for their name, how old they are, breeds as well as more information about their personality. I request any stories that the owner loves to tell. I want to know more about who they are as individuals because, while I can’t explain why, it just helps me capture who they are better. I didn’t ask for any of that because the woman who commissioned me sent a LOT of really good photos to choose from. I was instantly inspired by one in particular and was excited about drawing it. I really didn’t think much more about it and just assumed I was ready to draw it no problem. When I didn’t even have a name to put on the authentication card I realized my mistake right away. When she picked it up I asked what the dogs name was and she told me “Elsa”. It felt so good to put a name to the face I’d spent hours staring at. Later on she sent me this message that brought me to absolute tears. It made the whole struggle worth-while to know this story behind Elsa and my heart broke for her owner (and friends who cared about her) because I too lost my old dog very suddenly. His name was Coal and I had him from the time I was 15 until my late 20’s. Like Elsa, he was in his senior years but his death was still unexpected and heartbreaking. Below is Elsa’s story. I’ve removed names except the dear beloved Elsa’s.

While I’m sure that not having enough info about Elsa led to my struggle to draw her I still feel like it wouldn’t hurt to brush up on my drawing skills. I have, on occasion in the past, taken online art classes but it had been quite a few years now. I found a course on Udemy (The Ultimate Drawing Course) and this isn’t an ad or anything but it’s currently on sale for $25 – originally well over $100, I don’t remember and can’t seem to find the original price now. At any rate, it’s a good deal and affordable for me. It covers all the basic principals of drawing that I wanted to brush up on, and hopefully I’ll learn something new too.

I’ve accomplished one lesson so far and had posted it in my Instagram stories. I think I will continue to post the drawings from each lesson on my Insta stories, so make sure to give me a follow @slsartistry if you want to follow along with me.

I was surprised to realize I really struggle with following instructions now. It’s been a long time since I’ve taken a class of any kind. It felt really weird and was oddly stressful just trying to follow along. I kept finding I would just do my own thing and then I’d realize the guy was talking and giving instructions and I’d already been doing my own thing way ahead of him. I had to slow myself down. Take my time and listen. It was surprising how that was such a struggle to do.

So far I’m enjoying it. The trouble is finding the uninterrupted time to work on it. The first lesson had me draw an eye and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. At the end of the whole course I will have to draw it again and will be able to see any improvement. I’m looking forward to really sinking my teeth in and enjoying the whole process of this course. I want to get the most out of it that I can.

Leave a comment