Artwork Care

I’m going to give you a few tips about how to care for the artwork you might purchase from me. These days I’m mostly making bookmarks but that doesn’t mean I don’t still sell paintings. My studio still has a handful of my canvas paintings and I’m sure if you’ve bought one off me in the past it’s probably ready for a good cleaning!

Artwork that is created using good artist quality materials shouldn’t age too much on it’s own. The type of paper and the quality of tools used on it can determine the longevity of the artwork. Cheap materials change colour and/or fade with time. Some cheap paints crack over time. This is why I always try to use artist quality materials. Paper that isn’t acid free archival paper will turn yellow and break down over time (I think of my childhood artwork on brittle yellow paper now).

Even when high-grade materials are used a piece of artwork needs to be cared for properly or it can be damaged or change over time. Don’t ever hang artwork in direct sunlight. The sun fades anything left sitting in it long-term. Keep it away from windows that will be open or areas of your house that it is more likely to be splashed with. This especially goes for water colour artwork. Some types of art might be able to be hung in a bathroom, for example, but most of the artwork I create can not be.

If possible, frame your artwork under glass to protect it.

CANVAS PAINTINGS

A canvas left exposed (not framed and under glass) will collect dirt and dust over time. They should be cleaned about once a year or every two years if you don’t have pets. You can clean a painting using bread in the method I describe in the post Prepare a Canvas for Hanging. Use a piece of white bread to gently rub away dust and oils. I mainly paint canvas with acrylic paint, which when dried is essentially like plastic. It is very durable and holds up to regular cleaning using the bread method.

I have learned from experience (too many times, really) that stretched canvas punctures easily. It can get stretched out and become saggy if something is stacked on it, or worst-case-scenario it can be punctured. A small puncture can be fixed by using a piece of canvas that is at least an inch bigger than the hole in diameter and cut in a circular shape. If you don’t have canvas you can use a piece of fabric that matches the canvases colour. Lay the painting face-down on a clean surface. Use an acid-free glue (such as white school glue/craft glue) and (using a thin layer) glue your patch down over the hole on the back of the painting. Use a flat surface such as a credit card or piece of cardboard to smooth the patch and remove any excess glue (this is why a thin layer is needed). Blotch away excess glue. Put weight on the patch (use a book, something flat that won’t further damage the canvas). You will see the patch through the front. If possible, while the glue is still wet you can align the threads of the ripped canvas so that as little of the patch shows through and the image on the front is put back together. This patch job works best for small holes or tears. If you can get paint to match (you can always ask me what I used) and try to paint the front of the canvas where the patch is to match.

The best way to repair a hole in a canvas is to prevent it from happening in the first place! When moving and traveling your canvas make sure it is stored either face down on a flat, clean surface or in a box on it’s side so that it can’t tip over or have something fall on it. Trust me, all it takes is one touch of the breaks and suddenly your whole box of inventory has plummeted onto your canvas that wasn’t stored properly (like I said, I have experienced this too many times). It’s always better to just store them safely when moving them!

HAND PAINTED BOOKMARKS

Keep your hand painted bookmark new by treating it as a work of art. If you can’t frame it under glass then keep it in it’s protective plastic sleeve.

While I don’t recommend it, laminating will keep a hand painted bookmark safe if you wish to use it as a bookmark. However, to prevent stains or bends I highly recommend you frame and display your piece of bookmark artwork.

Keep away from moisture.

“I feel like a dick because I’m way too hard on my bookmarks I’ve bought from you… but also I needed bookmarks.”

– a collector

At the end of the day the artwork you buy off of me is your property to do whatever you want with (except copy, print and resell it of course. You own the product but I own the image). These are just my personal recommendations if you want to keep your bookmark art living long and beautiful.

I started creating the prints of the bookmarks so that people had a choice to use them as an actual bookmark. After all, I can’t exactly be selling bookmarks if you can’t even use them in a book! But just know that if you do put the large (hand painted) ones in a book over time they will wear, get bent or (if you’re like me and take your books into the tub) get water damaged. They won’t last forever. The printed bookmarks are hardy enough to withstand most book abuse for a long time and if they get completely ruined you can just buy a new one because they’re much cheaper than the hand painted ones!

Enjoy your artwork however you’d like! Take care of them and they will look beautiful for ages.

Leave a comment